Raw Mini Turnips and Dip!

raw turnip sticks

raw turnip sticks

As many of you know, I am a happy cook in the kitchen during the winter season. Once the good weather hits, though I am less inclined to spend the day creating a new soup or tending a classic Irish stew. I prefer to be out of doors playing instead. Yesterday, at lunchtime, I discovered a left over turnip at the back of my fridge, and wondered what I could do with it since I just didn’t feel like making any more turnip soup, (delicious as it was this past winter).

 

That’s when I came up with the idea to use sliced raw turnip as a snack with a hummus dip. Believe it or not I had never eaten raw turnip before, and I wasn’t even sure I’d like it, but of course I loved it or I would not bother to share it with you here today.

 

The taste is sweet, the texture is cruchy, and turnips are probably the cheapest vegetables on the planet. At cool temperatures they keep well for ages and are packed with lots of fiber, vitamin C and calcium.

All you need for this recipe is 1 turnip ( any size).

Hummus or your favorite veggie dip.

Chopping a turnip into bite sized slices is a challenge for me and if you don’t have strong wrists, I suggest:

  1. peeling the waxy outer layer off first.
  2. cutting away several outer portions and working your way to the center of the turnip, instead of trying to hack through the center straight off.
  3. chopping chunks into thin 1.5 inch pieces

Serve with a dip and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Raw Mini Turnips and Dip!

Leave a Reply

