Gluten-Free, RECIPES

Healthy Chocolate Coco Butter Cups

I am on a mission to limit my sugar intake and to add healthy saturated fats (coconut oil and coconut butter) at the same time. Even though this is not a sugar free recipe, as I use some honey and, of course, there is some sugar in the dark chocolate, this is my current desert of choice when I get that chocolate craving!  One more good thing; they are gluten-free and dairy-free.

The ingredients are simple and no baking is required!  Please note you really need toasted coconut flakes for this to work.  Shredded coconut just is not the same at all.

Yummy Choco-Coco-butter cups
Yummy Choco-Coco-butter cups

RECIPE

I used

500 g of Roasted Coconut flakes (2 packages)  see image below.

Unpasturized honey to taste. ( I use about 1 TBS)

About 2/3 Cup of melted dark or semi sweet chocolate

Melt chocolate over low heat while you let your food processor blend the coconut flakes into a soft almost liquid butter.  Add a bit of honey if desired.

Fill greased or lined mini muffin tins 1/3 full with  coconut mixutre.  Chill slightly in freezer for 5 mins.  Remove from freezer and add a layer of liquid chocolate in each cup, then return to the freezer for a few minutes and top up the cups with more coco butter and chill one last time again.  If you don’t devour them all in one sitting, keep the rest refrigerated!

*I use a bit of coconut oil to grease the pans  when I run out of mini muffin papers.

Makes about 2-3 dozen mini cups.

OPTIONSIMG_3727

* I sometimes add celtic salt to the chocolate  and pop a pecan in the center before chilling.  Experement and let me know how it goes!

Coco nut flakes
Coconut flakes
2 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Coco Butter Cups”

Leave a Reply

