Gluten-Free, RECIPES, Uncategorized

Summer Salsa Update!

Salsa has quickly become my favorite side dish this summer. Earlier this week I posted the first salsa recipe I ever made. Since then, I’ve been experimenting and have come up with a new version!

The key to the great taste, I think is the combination of capers, coriander and lime juice.

The recipe is the same as the original but with just a few additions. Today I added mango, avocado, a bit of red onion and a few artichoke hearts…So here it is, the tweaked up version of my summer salsa.

4-5 ripe, Italian tomatoes, diced or pulsed in the food processor for a few seconds.

2 ripe avocados, chopped

1mango, chopped

1-2 tbs red onion, diced

1 can of pitted, black olives, chopped

3 strands of garlic flowers or 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped.

2-3 tbs small capers

4 artichoke hearts, chopped

Add the following herbs to taste: Coriander, basil, thyme

Juice of 1 lime and or lemon

Toss all ingredients together in a medium sized bowl and serve with wheat-free crackers or as an accompaniment to whitefish !

Just glancing at what other bloggers are posting, I see that there are so many more salsa combos out there, some using pineapple and others blueberries…going to give those a try for sure…and I hope this recipe inspires you to try a new salsa this summer.

Leave a Reply

