COUNTDOWN TO IRONMAN MT-TREMBLANT

On the eve of the biggest event to hit Mont-Tremblant in all my years here, it’s hard not to get caught up in all the excitement.

This mega Triathlon will be held Sunday August 19th and pushes athletes to their limits with 3 grueling fitness challenges in swimming, biking and running; I quote from their facebook page:

Athletes will start the 2.4-mile (3.8 km) swim on the golden sands of the Beach & Tennis club, bike a two-loop, 112-mile course and end with a two-loop, 26.2-mile (42.2 km) run in the heart of the pedestrian village of Tremblant Resort.

So, everywhere I look in my little village of Mont-Tremblant, EVERYONE seems to be running, and biking and swimming!  Yes, many of the firm, spandex-clad bodies belong to ironman hopefuls preparing for the big day, but most are mere mortals such as myself,  getting in on the act.  Tremblant has always been THE destination for skiing and outdoor sports of all kinds but this, combined with 2 solid weeks of summer Olympic coverage and this town is overflowing with folks in an absolute fitness frenzy!

As for me I just keep on walking!  My favorite trail is the P’tit train du Nord  which wraps itself halfway around Lac Mercier.   I leave the village of Mont-Tremblant and walk as quickly as I can though, and then double back after I have reached the tip of the lake 30 minutes later. As it happens, this part of the trail will be used by the IRONMEN (and WOMEN) as they execute the running portion of the challenge.

This summer the pond at the entrance of the trail has been “waterscaped” in a very clever way.  Someone has planted uniquely shaped flower beds that float on the surface of the water, perhaps to oxygenate a stagnant corner of the lake. I love to see how the vegetation changes from week to week.

Lac Mercier, Mont-Tremblant

Lac Mercier, Mont-Tremblant

Somehow though,  I think its beauty may be lost on the thri-athletes of the IRONMAN Mont-Tremblant event. To them it will all be just a bluuur!

Welcome to our corner of the world and best of luck to the athletes.

2 thoughts on “COUNTDOWN TO IRONMAN MT-TREMBLANT

Leave a Reply

