Gluten-Free, RECIPES

Why This is My FAVORITE Healthy Dessert! (recipe included!)

I am not on a restricted diet but I cook for family members who are. Going gluten free, for example has been a real challenge, but one that I have taken on with zeal since my daughter showed a slight intolerance through testing several years ago.
Since then, I have learned much about how diet can be directly related to what ails you-thanks to my training in Chinese medicine. Personally I have cut out all dairy products and avoid raw food, sugar, caffeine and processed foods.
Sometimes I feel the same way as some of my patients who ask, “Well, gee, what CAN I eat?”
The answer can be complicated but for our purposes here, I thought I would start with a recipe I really enjoy and tend to make during the fall season (when apples are in season).  I will  include other dietary suggestions in my newsletters with each season-so head to my website to sign up for that!
This is my take on Apple-berry Crisp, an old standby that you may have forgotten about or may have yet to discover! It provides the goodness of cooked fruit for those whose digestive systems are on the sensitive side while omitting wheat and using just a sprinkling of sugar!
I think the key is using very sweet apples like Spartan or Lobo types so that not much processed sugar need to be added. Of course, if you have raw sugar or some stevia you may want to experiment further.
Instead of wheat I used buckwheat flour which is really not even a cereal grain and so contains no gluten. I do use butter in my diet as it is a healthy form of animal protein containing only traces of lactose.
Enjoy!

-before the topping

APPLE-BERRY CRISP

5 C apples ( sliced, peeled, cored)
1C frozen fieldberries
1 tsp brown sugar ( or, even better, raw sugar)
1 tbs of buckwheat flour

*Topping
1/4 cup brown sugar ( I just use a sprinkling)
1/2 cup of buckwheat flour
1/2 cup of rolled oats
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp finely grated orange rind
1/4 cup of butter
1/3 cup chopped hazelnuts ( I have yet to try this ingredient, but I bet it is delish!)

In a buttered 8 inch square baking dish ( 2L), toss together fruit, suar and flour. Set aside.

*Topping

Combine sugar, flour, rolled oats, cinnamon and orange rinds in bowl.  Work in butter with pastry blender or fingertips until crumbly.  Sprinkle over fruit and add hazelnuts, if using.

Bake in 350 0 oven for 45-50 minutes until browned or until fruit is fork tender.  ( 4-6 servings).

Lovin' from the oven
2 thoughts on “Why This is My FAVORITE Healthy Dessert! (recipe included!)”

Leave a Reply

